CNG creates mobility

CNG Mobility Days Berlin 2019

Front row from left: Audi A5 Sportback g-tron, Seat Arona TGI, Golf TGI, Polo TGI, Skoda Octavia Combi G-TEC. Back row from left: Scania R410 Zugmaschine, Caddy TGI, MAN Lion´s City Stadtbus.

Volkswagen Group and industry partners from the energy economy further expand CNG mobility

Berlin/Wolfsburg, 24 June 2019 – Volkswagen Group and its industry partners from the gas supply, network, and filling station operation sectors will showcase their products and services at the 3rd CNG Mobility Days in Berlin (25–26 June 2019), presenting an overview of the current situation and the future of CNG. Volkswagen Group brands will also be exhibiting their latest CNG models in the passenger car, truck and bus segments. »read more

CNG News

In addition to the SEAT office in Berlin, the SEAT Head of Fleet and the SEAT Coordinator Key Account Management as well as representatives of the Grand City Property branch office in Berlin and the Berlin energy provider GASAG took part in the ceremonious vehicle handover.

Grand City Property expands fleet by 25 CNG Models from SEAT

Berlin / Weiterstadt, October 2, 2019 – Last Wednesday, SEAT Deutschland subsidiary Berlin delivered 25 CNG models of the SEAT Ibiza TGI* to the Berlin-based Grand City Property. With the order of the first 25 CNG models of the SEAT Ibiza, the GCP is launching the renewal of the in-house fleet – primarily under aspects of sustainability. In the coming months, another 45 vehicles will follow with CNG and ten with electric drive from SEAT.

SEAT tests biofuel recovered in landfills. The project runs until 2023 and is supported with a total of 4.3 million euros.

SEAT produces biomethane from waste

Martorell / Weiterstadt, September 24, 2019 – The Spanish car manufacturer SEAT is participating in the recently approved project Life Landfill Biofuel by the European Commission. The aim of the project is to extract fuel from municipal landfills. To this end, methods are to be developed in order to obtain biomethane more efficiently from these numerous sources. The project will run for four years and has a budget of 4.3 million euros, 55 percent funded by the European Commission.

All SEAT models with TGI engines can be combined via SEAT Fast Lane and are ready for delivery within 21 days of placing the order.

CNG in 21 days: SEAT Fast Lane – sustainable mobility available now

Weiterstadt, 12 September 2019 – CNG is clean, cost-effective, proven over many years and immediately available alternative to the electric drive. Europe’s largest traffic club, the ADAC, confirms the best carbon footprint in a recent study of vehicles powered by CNG (Compressed Natural Gas). This is a confirmation for SEAT to further intensify its CNG offensive: All models powered by natural gas can now be ordered via SEAT Fast Lane and thus be delivered to the customer particularly quickly.

CNG Mobility Days Berlin June 2019

The 3rd CNG Mobility Days emphasize the potential of CNG  »read more

CNG Mobiliy Days 2019 in Berlin: Video greeting message from Luca de Meo, President SEAT S.A.

Luca de Meo, President SEAT S.A.: “Now is the time for CNG”

CNG News

CNG fan Stefan Neugebauer: Alone with the VW Caddy Ecofuel, he has driven more than 300 000 kilometres over the past ten years.

475 000 impressive kilometres with CNG

Stefan Neugebauer, born in 1973, is a dedicated user and advocate of CNG technology. He is particularly impressed by the experiences that he himself has now had over the past 13 years with four CNG models so far and more than 475 000 kilometres. A robust environmental awareness and a sense of responsibility to subsequent generations were instrumental in Neugebauer adopting the CNG power unit. However, alongside the environmental footprint, the economic credentials of his CNG vehicles are also eminently respectable. This is because apart from lower vehicle taxes, the favourable fuel costs are a key factor in protecting the budget of the family man for every kilometre he drives.

Transport Minister Scheuer also praised the investment by Zippel in the electronic turning assistant. This relates to the Luis Turn Detect camera system which can record moving objects in the space directly beside the driver’s door on the right-hand side and further away on a separate cycle path.

Gazprom NGVE fuel for Zippel CNG trucks in Berlin and Leipzig

May 2019 – Manufacturer of industrial cleaning technology Zippel operates three CNG-powered trucks. The CNG trucks emit 80 percent less nitrogen oxides and 95 percent less fine dust,” according to Axel Plaß, Managing Director of the Zippel Group. Since February 2018, four Scania CNG trucks have been transporting containers for the Zippel Group throughout the Leipzig region. The Zippel Group demonstrates that an environmentally friendly method of transportation is already available here and now. A virtual swap procedure enables Zippel to refuel its vehicles with biomethane that has been fed into the public natural-gas network at existing filling stations operated by Gazprom NGV Europe.

f.l.t.r.: Stephen Neumann (Volkswagen Group Officer for Natural Gas Mobility), Luc Moulin (Director of Sales for Buses, Scania Germany and Austria), Roland Clement (Chief Executive Officer)

Autostadt takes delivery of the first SCANIA tour bus powered by CNG in Germany

February 2019 – The Autostadt theme park has expanded its mobile transport options with the first delivery in Germany of a Scania Interlink bus powered by a Euro 6 gas engine. In future, the vehicle will be used as a plant tour shuttle and in service operation.

VERBIO is backing the new CNG engines from SCANIA v. l. n. r.: Wolfgang Clement (Regional Director of SCANIA North East), Claus Sauter (Chief Executive Officer of VERBIO) © André Wirsig / VERBIO AG

VERBIO starts operations with three new SCANIA R410 CNG trucks

May 2019 – VERBIO is expanding its truck fleet and taking a further step on the road route to a carbon-neutral logistics fleet. Delivery of the three CNG-powered SCANIA R410 trucks in Ludwigsfelde near Berlin brings to eight the total number of vehicles operating on biomethane generated by an in-house production system in Schwedt. Once again, the biofuel producer shows how decarbonisation can be driven forward simply and efficiently in haulage transport. The success of the transport transition will stand and fall with the reduction of emissions in the movement of goods.

Image source: Zukunft ERDGAS / Ilja C. Hendel (sample image) (/fileadmin/user_upload/News/staedtischer-bus-oslo-CNG.jpg)

29 biomethane buses
for public transport
in Koblenz

April 2019 – The City of Koblenz is renewing part of its bus fleet and this is charting the course for more climate protection. evm Verkehrs GmbH will soon issue an invitation to tender for the acquisition of 29 buses powered by biomethane. The city commissioned an expert report as it sought to identify the most appropriate power unit for replacing conventional diesel buses powered by an environmentally friendly alternative. This report indicated that gas-powered vehicles were the most favourable both from environmental and economic perspectives.

SEAT: New CNG models

April 2019: The new SEAT Arona 1.0 TGI is the first SUV worldwide powered by CNG technology. New TGI engine for the SEAT Leon, new equipment lines in spring campaign: All TGI models at the price of comparable TSI vehicles. Total of three natural-gas tanks for more CNG range. The Spanish automobile manufacturer is expanding its pioneering position.
»read more

March 2019: Volkswagen’s natural gas strategy continues to gain ground: only recently available to order, the Polo TGI2) and Golf TGI3) are now joined by the Golf Variant TGI1) with eco-friendly natural gas engine. The new model now boasts three natural gas tanks – instead of just two as before – once again increasing the already long range of the CNG drives.
»read more

The green fleet

Local authorities that want to convert their official cars to efficient and environmentally friendly vehicles have been using CNG technology for some time now. The city of Augsburg and its municipal utility service are pioneers for towns and local authorities when it comes to CNG. “We have consistently been converting our fleet to CNG vehicles and we are very satisfied,” according to Klaus Röder, from municipal utility Stadtwerke Augsburg.

New campaigns and new model for successful CNG mobility

Wolfsburg, 21 February 2018 – New partnerships, new vehicle model, increased registration figures: The Volkswagen Group and its industrial partners from the areas of gas supply, grid operation and filling stations are once again continuing their successful brand and information offensive in the year 2018. Since the start of the cross-brand campaign in spring 2017, the campaign alliance has succeeded in significantly enhancing the status of CNG (Compressed Natural Gas) for individual mobility in Germany. The current registration figures from the German Federal Motor Transport Authority confirm that CNG engines are currently the type of power unit experiencing the most robust growth. »read more

CNG News

VW Polo TGI (fuel consumption with natural gas (CNG), kg/100 km: combined 3.2 – 3.1; CO₂ emission combined (natural gas (CNG)), g/km: 87 – 85; fuel consumption with petrol, l/100 km: combined 4.9 – 4.8; CO₂ emission combined (petrol), g/km: 112 – 110) and the new SEAT Ibiza 1.0 TGI (fuel consumption natural gas (CNG), kg/100 km: combined 3.3; CO₂ emission combined (natural gas (CNG)), g/km: 88; fuel consumption petrol, l/100 km: combined 5.0; CO₂ emission combined (petrol), g/km: 114) (Each powered by a large three-cylinder engine with a capacity of 1 litre generating 66 kW/90 hp).

Course for success in the expansion of CNG mobility

Wolfsburg, 7 November 2017. The Volkswagen Group and its industry partners from the areas of gas supply, grid and filling station businesses have drawn a positive provisional conclusion from their joint commitment to the expansion of CNG mobility. Just a few months after the start of the current information offensive with the CNG Mobility Days in Hamburg, the campaign alliance succeeded in achieving a significant increase in the status of CNG (Compressed Natural Gas) for individual mobility. Since July 2017, the number of newly registered CNG vehicles in Germany on a month-for-month basis increased significantly compared to the previous year. At the launch of the CNG Mobility Days on 7 and 8 November 2017 in Essen, the companies announced further steps for their initiative. The latest models developed by the Volkswagen Group to run on CNG are being presented in Essen in the form of the VW Polo TGI and the SEAT Ibiza 1.0 TGI. Furthermore, the Volkswagen Group rewards the move to a low CO2 CNG vehicle with a special bonus. The industry circle for CNG Mobility recently gained additional momen-tum when biomethane manufacturer VERBIO joined the group.  » read more

CNG models in the Volkswagen Group

CNG model overview Volkswagen Group: Audi A3 Sportback g-tron, Audi A4 Avant g-tron, Audi A5 Sportback g-tron, VW ECO up!, VW Golf TGI Blue Motion, VW Golf Variant TGI Blue Motion, Škoda CITIGO G-TEC, Škoda OCTAVIA G-TEC, Škoda  OCTAVIA Combi G-TEC, SEAT Mii Ecofuel, SEAT Leon 1.4 TGI, SEAT Leon ST 1.4 TGI, VW Caddy TGI Blue Motion, VW Caddy Maxi TGI Blue Motion (from left to right.).

What is CNG?

Natural gas – also known as CNG (Compressed Natural Gas) – is by nature a particularly pure fuel. The main component is methane with the chemical composition CH4. Each molecule only contains one carbon atom. Even though natural gas is a fossil fuel, CNG consequently releases around 25 percent less CO2 than conventional fuels when it undergoes combustion in an engine. CNG also burns more cleanly than petrol or diesel – virtually free of fine dust and with significantly lower proportions of other emissions that are harmful to the climate. And because CNG with 13.0 kWh/kg has a higher energy density than petrol (12.0 kWh/kg) and diesel (11.8 kWh/kg), a CNG vehicle not only cuts down emissions that are harmful to the environment, it also saves money at the filling station.

CNG creates mobility

When searching for alternatives to conventional fuels for automobiles, the focus is increasingly falling on three letters: CNG. They stand for “Compressed Natural Gas”. The principal manifestation of CNG is natural gas. This fuel is used in millions of households for providing heat, for producing hot water and for cooking. CNG is equally suitable in everyday practical terms as a fuel for mobility. Almost 100 000 automobiles are already driving on German roads alone powered by CNG. They generate a significantly lower level of emissions compared with petrol or diesel vehicles with similar driving performance. Their owners have access to a nationwide network of around 920 CNG filling stations. These are connected to the nationwide gas supply grid of around 500 000 kilometres. CNG is therefore available at any time throughout the country. The Volkswagen Group has joined forces with industrial partners in the areas of generation, supply and filling-station operation to increase the number of CNG automobiles tenfold in Germany by the year 2025 and to expand the filling-station grid to around 2000 stations. The brands of the Volkswagen Group are launching effective initiatives for this offensive with new CNG models, which also offer economic advantages as a result of their environmental benefits. This is because both CNG as a sustainable fuel and the automobiles powered by this fuel benefit from tax breaks. Yet CNG is not simply a cost-effective alternative to conventional fuels. It is also particularly future-proof. It comprises a continuously growing proportion of carbon-neutral biogas made from sustainably reproducing raw materials. CNG can also be mixed with hydrogen, which is climate neutral and can be generated in unlimited amounts using electricity from renewable sources.


Expansion of natural gas mobility

The Volkswagen Group, operators of CNG filling stations and gas network providers have signed a Memorandum of Understanding with which the initiators are committed to expanding CNG mobility. CNG stands for “compressed natural gas” and can be natural gas or renewable energy from eco-electricity. The signatories underpin the goals of the “Round Table for Natural Gas Mobility” launched by the Federal Ministry of Economics in 2016, which was attended by representatives of vehicle manufacturers, the gas industry and service station operators as well as representatives of key retail, fleet and public sector customers.

Diversity in the vehicle range

Volkswagen has been on the market since 2002 with CNG models. The current offering of the Volkswagen Group brands includes a diverse vehicle portfolio in numerous segments. It ranges from economical urban mobility to premium models and also includes state-of-the-art and efficient natural gas vehicles from the subsidiary TRATON GROUP. The Volkswagen Group underscores its commitment to expanding CNG mobility by developing new, ultra-low-emission and fuel-efficient natural gas engines, as well as continually expanding its brands’ vehicle program, adding further attractive CNG models.

Powerful infrastructure with industry partners

For the Volkswagen Group, the expansion of CNG mobility is an important building block of its realignment of the drive portfolio decided in the context of the “TOGETHER – Strategy 2025” future program. The communal character is also reflected in the Volkswagen Group’s concerted offensive with gas network operators and operators of CNG filling stations. With an attractive range of vehicles and a comprehensive as well as high-performance infrastructure, Volkswagen and its industrial partners are creating ideal conditions to make an immediate and simultaneously sustainable contribution to reducing emissions.

CNG bewegt

CNG Mobility Days Berlin 2019

Erste Reihe von links: Audi A5 Sportback g-tron, Seat Arona TGI, Golf TGI, Polo TGI, Skoda Octavia Combi G-TEC. Hintere Reihe von links: Scania R410 Zugmaschine, Caddy TGI, MAN Lion´s City Stadtbus.

Volkswagen Konzern und Industriepartner der Energiewirtschaft bauen CNG-Mobilität weiter aus

Berlin/Wolfsburg, 24. Juni 2019 – Der Volkswagen Konzern und die Industriepartner aus den Bereichen Gasversorgung, Netz- und Tankstellenbetrieb geben bei den 3. CNG Mobility Days in Berlin (25./26. Juni 2019) einen Überblick über die augenblickliche Situation und die Zukunft von CNG. Gleichzeitig stellen die Marken des Volkswagen Konzerns ihre neuesten CNG-Modelle im Pkw-, Lkw- und Bussegment vor. » weiterlesen    

“Jetzt ist der richtige Zeitpunkt für CNG”

CNG Mobility Days 2019 in Berlin: Video-Grußbotschaft von Luca de Meo, Vorstandsvorsitzender SEAT S.A.

CNG News

CNG-Fan Stefan Neugebauer: Allein mit dem VW Caddy Ecofuel legte er in zehn Jahren mehr als 300 000 Kilometer zurück.

475 000 überzeugende Kilometer mit CNG
Stefan Neugebauer, Jahrgang 1973, ist ein überzeugter Nutzer und Verfechter der CNG-Technologie. Überzeugt vor allem von den Erfahrungen, die er selbst in mittlerweile 13 Jahren, mit bisher vier CNG-Modellen und auf mehr als 475 000 Kilometern gesammelt hat. Ein gesundes Umweltbewusstsein und die Verantwortung gegenüber nachfolgenden Generationen führten Neugebauer zum CNG-Antrieb. Neben der ökologischen kann sich aber auch die ökonomische Bilanz seiner CNG-Fahrzeuge sehen lassen. Denn neben den geringeren Kfz-Steuern schonen vor allem die günstigen Kraftstoffkosten das Budget des Familienvaters auf jedem Kilometer.  »weiterlesen

Verkehrsminister Scheuer lobte zudem die Investition von Zippel in Abbiegeassistenten. Es handelt sich hierbei um das Luis Turn Detect-Kamerasystem, das sowohl den Raum direkt neben der rechten Fahrertür als auch etwas entfernter auf einem abgetrennten Radweg erfassen kann.

Gazprom NGVE beliefert Zippel CNG-LKW in Berlin und Leipzig
Mai 2019 – Die Firma Zippel hat drei CNG-LKW in Betrieb genommen. Die CNG-LKW stoßen 80 Prozent weniger Stickoxide und 95 Prozent weniger Feinstaub aus.“, Axel Plaß, Geschäftsführer der Zippel Group. Bereits seit Februar 2018 transportieren 4 Scania CNG-LKW in der Region Leipzig Container für die Zippel Group. Die Zippel Group zeigt, dass umweltfreundliche Transporte  schon jetzt realisiert werden können. Eingespeist ins öffentliche Erdgasnetz, tankt Zippel in einem virtuellen Tauschverfahren das Biomethan an bestehenden CNG Tankstellen der Gazprom NGV Europe. »weiterlesen

v.l.n.r.: Stephen Neumann (Konzernbeauftragter CNG-Mobilität Volkswagen), Luc Moulin (Direktor Verkauf Busse, Scania Deutschland Österreich), Roland Clement (Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung)

Autostadt übernimmt ersten SCANIA Reisebus mit CNG-Antrieb in Deutschland
Februar 2019 – Mit der deutschlandweit ersten Übergabe eines Scania Interlink Busses mit Euro-6-Gasantrieb erweitert die Autostadt ihr mobiles Angebot. Das Fahrzeug wird künftig als Werktour-Shuttle sowie im Servicebetrieb eingesetzt.  »weiterlesen

VERBIO setzt auf die neuen CNG-Motoren von SCANIA v. l. n. r.: Wolfgang Clement (Regionaldirektor SCANIA Nordost), Claus Sauter (Vorstandsvorsitzender VERBIO) © André Wirsig / VERBIO AG

VERBIO nimmt drei neue SCANIA R410 CNG-LKW in Betrieb
Mai 2019 – VERBIO erweitert seinen LKW-Fuhrpark und macht einen weiteren Schritt auf dem Weg zu einer CO2-neutralen Logistikflotte. Mit der Übergabe von drei CNG-LKW vom Typ SCANIA R410 in Ludwigsfelde bei Berlin befinden sich in der VERBIO-Flotte nunmehr acht Fahrzeuge, die mit Biomethan aus der eigenen Produktionsanlage in Schwedt betrieben werden. Der Biokraftstoffproduzent zeigt einmal mehr auf, wie einfach und effizient die Dekarbonisierung im Güterverkehr vorangetrieben werden kann. Der Erfolg der Verkehrswende steht und fällt mit der Emissionsreduktion im Güterverkehr.  » weiterlesen
Bildquelle: Zukunft ERDGAS / Ilja C. Hendel (Symbolfoto) (/fileadmin/user_upload/News/staedtischer-bus-oslo-CNG.jpg)
29 Biomethan-Busse für den Koblenzer Linienverkehr
April 2019 – Die Stadt Koblenz erneuert einen Teil ihrer Busflotte und stellt dabei die Weichen für mehr Klimaschutz. So wird die evm Verkehrs GmbH in Kürze die Beschaffung von 29 mit Biomethan betriebenen Bussen ausschreiben. Für die Suche nach der passenden umweltschonenden Antriebsalternative zu konventionellen Diesel-Bussen hatte die Stadt ein Gutachten in Auftrag gegeben. Dieses belegt, dass Gas-Fahrzeuge unter ökologischen und ökonomischen Gesichtspunkten am günstigsten abschneiden. » weiterlesen
SEAT: Neue CNG-Modelle
April 2019: Der neue SEAT Arona 1.0 TGI ist der weltweit erste SUV mit CNG- Technologie. Neuer TGI-Motor für den SEAT Leon, neue Ausstattungslinien Frühjahrsaktion: Alle TGI-Modelle zum Preis vergleichbarer TSI-Fahrzeuge Insgesamt drei Erdgas-Tanks für mehr CNG-Reichweite. Der spanische Automo- bilhersteller baut Vorreiterstellung weiter aus. » weiterlesen

März 2019: Die Erdgas-Offensive von Volkswagen schreitet weiter voran: Kurz nach Bestellstart des Polo TGI2) und des Golf TGI3) gibt es nun auch den Golf Variant TGI mit umweltfreundlichem Erdgasantrieb. Das neue Modell verfügt jetzt über drei Erdgastanks – statt bislang zwei. Dies verstärkt einmal mehr die Langstreckentauglichkeit der CNG-Antriebe. » weiterlesen

Die grüne Flotte

Kommunen, die ihre Dienstwagen auf effizient umweltschonende Fahrzeuge umrüsten möchten, setzen schon lange auf die CNG-Technologie. Stadt und Stadtwerke Augsburg, die in Sachen CNG Vorreiter für Städte und Gemeinden sind. „Wir haben unseren Fuhrpark konsequent auf CNG-Fahrzeuge umgestellt und sind zufrieden“, so Klaus Röder, Stadtwerke Augsburg. » weiterlesen

Neue Aktionen und neues Modell für erfolgreiche CNG-Mobilität

Wolfsburg, 21. Februar 2018 – Neue Partnerschaften, neues Fahrzeugmodell, gestiegene Zulassungszahlen: Der Volkswagen Konzern und seine Industriepartner aus den Bereichen Gasversorgung, Netzbetrieb und Tankstellen setzen ihre erfolgreiche Markt und Informationsoffensive auch im Jahr 2018 fort. Seit dem Start der markenübergreifenden Kampagne im Frühjahr 2017 konnte das Aktionsbündnis den Stellenwert von CNG (Compressed Natural Gas) für die individuelle Mobilität in Deutschland erheblich steigern. Die aktuellen Zulassungszahlen des Kraftfahrtbundesamtes bestätigen, dass CNG derzeit die am stärksten wachsende Antriebsart ist. » weiterlesen

CNG News

VW Polo TGI (re.) (Kraftstoffverbrauch Erdgas (CNG), kg/100 km: kombiniert 3,2 – 3,1; CO₂-Emission kombiniert (Erdgas (CNG)), g/km: 87 – 85; Kraftstoffverbrauch Benzin, l/100 km: kombiniert 4,9 – 4,8; CO₂-Emission kombiniert (Benzin), g/km: 112 – 110) SEAT Ibiza 1.0 TGI  (li.) (Kraftstoffverbrauch Erdgas (CNG), kg/100 km: kombiniert 3,3; CO₂-Emission kombiniert (Erdgas (CNG)), g/km: 88; Kraftstoffverbrauch Benzin, l/100 km: kombiniert 5,0; CO₂-Emission kombiniert (Benzin), g/km: 114) (Werden jeweils von einem 1,0 Liter großen Dreizylinder-Motor mit 66 kW/90 PS angetrieben).

Erfolgskurs beim Ausbau der CNG-Mobilität wird fortgesetzt

Wolfsburg, 7. November 2017. Der Volkswagen Konzern und seine Industriepartner aus den Bereichen Gasversorgung, Netz- und Tankstellenbetrieb haben ein positives vorläufiges Fazit ihres gemeinschaftlichen Engagements für den Ausbau der CNG-Mobilität gezogen. Nur wenige Monate nach dem Start der aktuellen Informationsoffensive mit den CNG Mobility Days in Hamburg konnte das Aktionsbündnis eine erhebliche Steigerung des Stellenwerts von CNG (Compressed Natural Gas) für die individuelle Mobilität verzeichnen. Seit Juli 2017 liegt die Zahl der neu zugelassenen CNG-Fahrzeuge in Deutschland Monat für Monat deutlich über dem Vorjahresniveau. Zum Auftakt der CNG Mobility Days am 7. und 8. November 2017 in Essen kündigten die Unternehmen weitere Schritte ihrer Initiative an. Mit dem VW Polo TGI und dem SEAT Ibiza 1.0 TGI werden in Essen die neuesten für den Betrieb mit CNG entwickelten Modelle aus dem Volkswagen Konzern vorgestellt. Der Volkswagen Konzern belohnt den Umstieg auf ein CO2-armes CNG-Fahrzeug zudem mit einem Sonderbonus. Mit dem jüngst erfolgten Beitritt des Biomethan-Herstellers VERBIO hat auch der Industriekreis CNG-Mobilität nochmals an Schlagkraft gewonnen. » weiterlesen

CNG News

VW Eco up!: Kraftstoffverbrauch Erdgas (CNG), kg/100 km: innerorts 3,7 / außerorts 2,5 / kombiniert 2,9; CO₂-Emission kombiniert, g/km: 82; Effizienzklasse: A

Volkswagen Konzern fördert umweltfreundliche CNG-Mobilität mit einem Sonderbonus

Wolfsburg, 16. Oktober 2017 – Emissionsarme Mobilitätskonzepte haben für den Volkswagen Konzern eine hohe Priorität. Neben Elektro- und Hybridfahrzeugen gehört das Unternehmen mit seinen derzeit 14 Pkw-Modellen mit CNG-Antrieb zu den führenden Herstellern im Bereich Erdgas-Automobile in Deutschland. Ab Ende 2017 kommen mit dem neuen VW Polo und SEAT Ibiza zwei weitere Modelle als Erdgasvariante hinzu. Im Rahmen des Umwelt- und Zukunftsprogramms fördert der Konzern die umweltfreundliche Mobilität und bietet markenübergreifend allen Kunden eine attraktive Umweltprämie, die ein Neufahrzeug erwerben und dabei ein gebrauchtes Automobil jeder Marke mit einem Dieselmotor der Normen Euro 1 bis 4 zurückgeben. Zugleich startet der Konzern eine markenübergreifende CNG-Offensive. On top wird beim Kauf eines Fahrzeugs mit CNG-Antrieb zusätzlich zur Umweltprämie ein CNG-Sonderbonus von bis zu 2.000 Euro gewährt.  » weiterlesen

CNG Modellübersicht

Modellübersicht der aktuellen CNG Fahrzeuge aus der Volkswagen Group: Audi A3 Sportback g-tron, Audi A4 Avant g-tron, Audi A5 Sportback g-tron, VW ECO up!, VW Golf TGI Blue Motion, VW Golf Variant TGI Blue Motion, Škoda CITIGO G-TEC, Škoda OCTAVIA G-TEC, Škoda  OCTAVIA Combi G-TEC, SEAT Mii Ecofuel, SEAT Leon 1.4 TGI, SEAT Leon ST 1.4 TGI, VW Caddy TGI Blue Motion, VW Caddy Maxi TGI Blue Motion (von links nach rechts.).

Was ist CNG?

Erdgas – auch CNG (Compressed Natural Gas) genannt – ist von Natur aus ein besonders reiner Kraftstoff. Sein Hauptbestandteil ist Methan, chemisch CH4, das je Molekül lediglich ein Kohlenstoff-Atom enthält. Selbst als fossiles Erdgas setzt CNG daher bei seiner Verbrennung im Motor rund 25 Prozent weniger CO2 frei als herkömmliche Kraftstoffe. Außerdem verbrennt CNG sauberer als Benzin und Diesel – praktisch feinstaubfrei und mit deutlich geringeren Anteilen an weiteren klimaschädlichen Emissionen. Und weil CNG mit 13,0 kWh/kg eine höhere Energiedichte aufweist als Benzin (12,0 kWh/kg) und Diesel (11,8 kWh/kg), spart man mit einem CNG-Fahrzeug nicht nur bei den umweltschädlichen Emissionen, sondern auch an der Zapfsäule.

CNG bewegt

Auf der Suche nach Alternativen zu herkömmlichen Kraftstoffen für Automobile fällt der Blick immer häufiger auf drei Buchstaben: CNG. Sie stehen für „compressed natural gas“, die englischsprachige Bezeichnung für „verdichtetes natürliches Gas“. Haupterscheinungsform von CNG ist Erdgas, das in Millionen von Haushalten zum Heizen und zur Warmwasserbereitung, aber auch zum Kochen verwendet wird. Ebenso alltagstauglich ist CNG als Energieträger für Mobilität. Allein auf deutschen Straßen fahren schon heute fast 100 000 Automobile mit CNG. Sie verursachen bei vergleichbaren Fahrleistungen deutlich geringere Emissionen als Benzin- oder Diesel-Fahrzeuge. Ihre Besitzer können ein flächendeckendes Netz von rund 920 CNG-Tankstellen nutzen. Diese sind an das bundesweit rund 500 000 Kilometer umfassende Gas-Versorgungsnetz angeschlossen. CNG ist daher überall im Land sofort verfügbar. Der Volkswagen Konzern hat sich gemeinsam mit Industriepartnern aus den Bereichen Erzeugung, Versorgung und Tankstellenbetrieb das Ziel gesetzt, bis zum Jahr 2025 die Zahl der CNG-Automobile in Deutschland zu verzehnfachen und das Tankstellennetz auf rund 2000 Stationen auszubauen. Wirksame Impulse für diese Offensive setzen die Marken des Volkswagen Konzerns mit neuen CNG-Modellen, die dank ihrer ökologischen auch ökonomische Vorteile bieten. Denn als nachhaltiger Energieträger profitiert CNG ebenso von Steuervergünstigungen wie die mit diesem Kraftstoff angetriebenen Automobile. Doch CNG ist nicht nur eine kostengünstige Alternative zu konventionellen Kraftstoffen, sondern auch besonders zukunftsfähig. Es enthält einen permanent wachsenden Anteil an CO2-neutralem Biogas aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen und kann außerdem mit Wasserstoff vermischt werden, der sich klimaneutral und unbegrenzt mit Hilfe von Strom aus regenerativen Quellen erzeugen lässt.


Volkswagen Konzern treibt Ausbau der Erdgas-Mobilität voran

Der Volkswagen Konzern, Betreiber von CNG-Tankstellen und Gasnetzanbieter haben eine gemeinsame Absichtserklärung unterzeichnet, mit der sich die Initiatoren zum Ausbau der CNG-Mobilität bekennen. CNG steht für „Compressed Natural Gas“ und kann Erdgas sein oder regeneratives Gas aus Öko-Strom. Die Unterzeichner untermauern damit die Ziele des 2016 vom Bundeswirtschaftsministerium ins Leben gerufenen „Runden Tisches für Erdgasmobilität“, an dem Vertreter der Fahrzeughersteller, der Gasbranche und Tankstellenbetreiber sowie Vertreter wichtiger Kunden aus dem Einzelhandel, Flottenbetreiber und der Öffentlichen Hand teilgenommen hatten. (Pressemeldung 02. Mai 2017)

Große Vielfalt im Fahrzeugangebot des Volkswagen Konzerns

Volkswagen ist bereits seit 2002 mit CNG-Modellen auf dem Markt vertreten. Das aktuelle Angebot der Marken der Volkswagen Group umfasst ein vielfältiges Fahrzeug-Portfolio in zahlreichen Segmenten. Es reicht von wirtschaftlicher urbaner Mobilität bis zu Premium-Automobilen und schließt auch hochmoderne und effiziente Erdgas-Fahrzeuge der Tochtergesellschaft TRATON GROUP ein. Der Volkswagen Konzern unterstreicht sein Engagement für den Ausbau der CNG-Mobilität durch die Entwicklung neuer, besonders emissionsarmer und sparsamer Erdgas-Motoren sowie durch eine kontinuierliche Ergänzung des Fahrzeugprogramms seiner Marken.

Leistungsstarke Infrastruktur mit Industriepartnern

Für den Volkswagen Konzern ist der Ausbau der CNG-Mobilität ein wichtiger Baustein seiner im Rahmen des Zukunftsprogramms „TOGETHER – Strategie 2025“ beschlossenen Neuausrichtung des Antriebsportfolios. Der gemeinschaftliche Charakter kommt auch in der konzertierten Offensive des Volkswagen Konzerns mit Gasnetzanbietern und Betreibern von CNG-Tankstellen zum Ausdruck. Mit einem attraktiven Fahrzeugangebot und einer ebenso flächendeckenden wie leistungsstarken Infrastruktur schaffen Volkswagen und seine Industriepartner ideale Voraussetzungen, um mit dem Ausbau der CNG-Mobilität einen sofort und gleichzeitig nachhaltig wirksamen Beitrag zur Emissionsreduzierung zu leisten.